View single post by Steverhnm
 Posted: Fri May 5th, 2017 10:48 pm
PM Quote Reply Full Topic
Steverhnm

Mana: 
First of all, I am not an expert, just a guy that has been through it, sharing info. For expert advice I recommend seeing one of the boat brokers in San Carlos. That being said...

While I am sure it used to be that you could only have one TIP per person, I think they may be changing it.  There should never be two TIPs on one boat.  If you had a handwritten TIP, it is most likely you are not in the computer system but I hear they keep pretty good records down at Banjercito in Guaymas. I know getting a TIP on the Internet, sent to your home via DHL, is extremely easy.  Mexico is getting much more "interconnected" these days via computerization of records.  So if something is on a computer written record, I would be attentive to its "status".  You are responsible for getting the TIP and you can't do it until you have the title transferred to your name. The previous owner is responsible for closing out his old TIP (but you will suffer if he does not). I would suggest he does not close it until you get your clear title and apply for yours and get it. That way the boat is never without a TIP. Give a copy of the TIP to the storage location and keep it on your boat.

Regarding purchasing the boat. If you "purchaser in Mexico" you will be paying an import tax, you won't need a TIP, and I have no clue as to the actual ramifications of being a citizen of a foreign country owning a boat titled in Mexico. I would not do it unless you were living there permanently.